Chakra system

Chakra system in Tarot

The seven planets unite the four elements through the traditional rulership of the zodiac signs, which is extended to the chakras. Vedic astrology has explored the relationship between the planetary rulers and the chakras. This duality, which is fundamental to mystical experience. This is paralleled with the Tree of Life. In the diagram below you see the three columns of the Tree of Life with the chakras.

Chakras and Astrology
Chakra Severity Balance Mercy
Third Eye Cancer Moon, Sun Leo
Throat Gemini Mercury Virgo
Heart Taurus Venus Libra
Navel Aries Mars Scorpio
Sex Pisces Jupiter Sagittarius
Root Aquarius Saturn Capricorn

Elemental Polarities


Image of CaduceuEach planet unites inimical elements in alternate phases. This alternating polarity is visualised as having a three-dimensional quality: two spirals around a centre, which recalls this diagram in The Book of Thoth. The Caduceus is found on the Fool card of the Thoth Tarot. Note that Kether and the seventh or Head centre (both known as the Crown), transcend time. The Moon and Sun appear at 3 and 2 respectively, which is quite proper, being the Mother and Father in the Tree of Life.

The characteristics of the planets relate to the chakras thus:

Sun, Moon

Right and Left eyes. Will and feeling, reason and emotion


Speech and intellect


Love and heart


Energy, drives and passions


Reproductive system


Elimination and support

The relationship between the planets, the chakras  is extended to understanding the exaltation of the planets.

Exalted Planets
Chakra Exalt Ruler Exalt
Third Eye can jupiter monsun leo
Throat gem mer vir mer
Heart tau mon venus lib saturn
Navel aries sun mars scorpio
Sex pisces venus jupiter sagittarius
Root aquarius saturn capricorn mars

The Lunar relationship to the exalted planets are:


The spiritual nature as Guru or guide in the Water element


The receptive nature in the heart


The Solar plexus



The Solar relationship to the exalted planets are:


More expressive in speech


Represents the higher principles of justice, law, order and detachment


The energy needed to motivate the physical levels

Further analysis is made about the elements and exaltations:

Elements and Exaltations
can sunmon leo jupiter
gem mer vir mer
tau venus lib saturn mon
aries mars scorpio sun
pisces jupiter sagittarius venus
aquarius saturn capricorn mars
  • In their exalted positions, Jupiter and Mercury increase the same energies.
  • Saturn increase the same energies, but the Moon mitigates things somewhat with the water element – Fire is missing
  • The Sun adds fiery energy to Mars and Scorpio – Air and Earth is missing.
  • The elements of Venus balances Pisces and Sagittarius
  • The elements of Mars balances Aquarius and Saturn
  • Note only Mars and Venus complements their exalted positions and creates elemental balance.


Convert the tables above into the right Tarot cards.

Article Name
Relating the chakra system to tarot in the body
The Chakra system can be attributed to the tarot, particularly the planetary major arcana, to parts of the body and spiritual experiences.

Leave a Reply