The signs of the Zodiac

The 12 signs of the Zodiace relate to twelve of the Major Arcana and 36 Minor Arcana cards.

  • Aries – The Emperor – 2, 3, 4 of Wands
  • Taurus – The Hierophant – 5, 6, 7 of Disks or Pentacles
  • Gemini – The Lovers – 8, 9, 10 of Swords
  • Cancer – The Chariot – 2, 3, 4 of Cups
  • Leo – Lust or Strength – 5, 6, 7 of Wands
  • Virgo – The Hermit – 8, 9, 10 of Disks or Pentacles
  • Libra – Justice or Adjustment – 2, 3, 4 of Swords
  • Scorpio – Death – 5, 6, 7 of Cups
  • Sagittarius – Art or Temperance – 8, 9, 10 of Wands
  • Capricorn – The Devil – 2, 3, 4 of Disks or Pentacles
  • Aquarius – The Star – 5, 6, 7 of Swords
  • Pisces – The Moon – 8, 9, 10 of Cups

4 The Emperor – Book of Thoth

The Emperor represents authority figures such as the Father, your boss, head of an organisation, or the alpha male. This is a person who gives orders and expects them to be obeyed. Don't expect fun and frolicking when the Emperor appears. Everything is too serious....

5 The Hierophant – Book of Thoth

Dogma, tradition and patriarchal society comes to mind when the Hierophant appears. At its best, he is a benevolent teacher, kindly and understanding. The Papal tradition is the model - and we know they still have not really forgiven Galileo for suggesting that the...

6 The Lovers – Book of Thoth

The Lovers Tarot divinatory meanings The Lovers tarot is about love and love affairs, it  implies a doubt or hesitation in where a relationship is at. Is the right person for me? In our friends and partners we look for kinship, some kind of similarity, as this...

7 The Chariot – Book of Thoth

The Chariot Tarot divinatory meanings The Chariot is about control - the driver is in charge of the horses pulling the chariot. The card is about getting us to where we want to go, and in this context, it follows naturally from the choices made in the Lovers. In order...

8 Adjustment – Book of Thoth

The Adjustment divinatory meanings Adjustment demonstrates balance and harmony. Legal matters and serious relationships (marriage or business partnership) are also signified. People often look to fairness in their life. They try to be considerate to others, but...

9 The Hermit – Book of Thoth

The Hermit divinatory meanings The Hermit is about seclusion, withdrawal from society, as in a Monk or living in a hermitage. In fact the Hermit chooses to live a solitary life, but he is still engaged with society. People come to him for advice on all kinds of...

11 Lust – Book of Thoth

The Lust Tarot divinatory meanings Lust is about passion, living life, making love, playing games and sports. We have extra energy to do what we desire that are not about the basic necessities of life; earning money, finding food and shelter, etc. Nature is tamed, but...

13 Death – Book of Thoth

The Death Tarot card Divinatory Meanings Related to Scorpio and the 8th House, which is about other people's money, secrets and sexuality. So, finding about into the sexual proclivities of someone is one interpretation. If you want to know what or where the secrets...

14 Art – Book of Thoth

Art divinatory meanings When strong, Art indicates balance and harmony in the life of the client. He is able to more than cope with what is going on around him and things run smoothly. There is a powerful aspirational component, in that upward desires are likely to...