Book of Thoth Disks

Book of Thoth Disks Minor Arcana

Descriptions of the Disks Minor Arcana of Aleister Crowley’s Book of Thoth tarot. The Disk is the symbol of the element Earth.

Titles of the Disks

The Titles originate from the Golden Dawn

Disks and Tree of Life

Disks represent the spiritual level of Assiah

The sephiroth are from 2 to 10 or Chokmah to Malkuth.

Disks and Astrology

The Disks are associated with the earth signs of the zodiac:

2, 3 and 4 – Capricorn

5, 6 and 7 – Taurus

8, 9 and 10 – Virgo


The divinatory meanings have their origin in Picatrix

Two of Disks – Change

Two of Disks - Change; Divinatory Meanings Change means to exchange or convert something, to substitute on for another. A reciprocal exchange. The Two of Disks shows the interchange of the new and old, which usually goes around in circles. You want to make the change,...

Three of Disks – Work

Three of Disks - Work Work means the exertion or physical effort to achieve something. The materials for working on something. A place of employment. The Three of Disks is the establishment of a new business or project that may have arisen out of the uncertainty...

Four of Disks – Power

The meaning of power is the ability to act, to achieve something. Political strength, authority. The Four of Disks shows consolidation of a new business or venture so that it has solid foundations and can be built upon. Picatrix describes the limitations of holding...

Five of Disks – Worry

Five of Disks - Worry: Divinatory Meanings Worry means to torment oneself with disturbing thoughts, anxiety. To harass by biting etc. A feeling of disquiet. The Five of Disks is about testing the new project - finding strengths and weaknesses. In Picatrix the worry...

Six of Disks – Success

Six of Disks - Success Success means accomplishment of goals, attainment of honours, wealth, position etc. The Six of Disks suggests developing the project after reassessing the result of testing in the Five of Disks. Looking for financing options, or rearranging...

Seven of Disks – Failure

Seven of Disks - Failure Failure means lack of success, non-performance. Deterioration or decay, insolvency. The Seven of Disks suggests borrowing money to finance a project. Coming up against obstacles to success. Hard work with no sign of success....

Eight of Disks – Prudence

Eight of Disks Prudence has several meanings; being prudent, caution in practical matters, discretion. Regard for one's interests. The antonym of prudence is rashness. The Eight of Disks is about improving project and ventures. A time for nurturing....

Nine of Disks – Gain

Nine of Disks - Gain Gain means to get something desired, to win, to reach, to arrive at. The antonym of gain is lose. The Nine of Disks shows making money from a project. There can also be a windfall or winning a cash prize. The expectation of gain from a project or...

Ten of Disks Wealth

Ten of Disks - Wealth; Divinatory Meanings Wealth means an abundance of anything, a state of prosperity or affluence.  The antonym of wealth is poverty. The Ten of Pentacles or Ten of Disks suggests selling something for a profit. Financial gain, a pension....