Book of Thoth Cups

Book of Thoth Cups Minor Arcana

Book of Thoth Cups Minor Arcana of Aleister Crowley’s tarot. The Cup or the Grail holds Water or blood, symbols of life and birth.

Titles of the Cups

The Titles originate from the Golden Dawn

Cups and Tree of Life

Cups represent the spiritual level of Briah

The sephiroth are from 2 to 10 or Chokmah to Malkuth.

Cups and Astrology

The Wands are associated with the water signs of the zodiac:

2, 3 and 4 – Cancer

5, 6 and 7 – Scorpio

8, 9 and 10 – Pisces


The divinatory meanings have their origin in Picatrix

Two of Cups – Love

The Two of Cups is all about love and relationships. The Two of Cups is the Lord of Love, which performs a similar office for water. The Two of Cups is a great indicator of love and happiness. Magical Image of the First Face of Cancer in...

Three of Cups – Abundance

Three of Cups Abundance means plentiful, excess, affluence or wealth. The antonym is scarcity. The Three of Cups shows expectations arising from the union of the Two. This can be pregnancy, a birth, engagement or marriage proposal, or maybe a romantic interlude....

Four of Cups – Luxury

Four of Cups - Luxury Four of Cups Luxury means sumptuous living, indulgence in comfort or enjoyment. Archaically, luxury means lust or lechery. The Four of Cups asks if the emotional outreach or roller-coaster of feelings expressed in the...

Five of Cups – Disappointment

Five of Cups synonyms of disappointment are failure, defeat, frustration. The Five of Cups shows that Four of Cups in the cold light of day; the emotional excitement or expectations of the Two and Three, may not have been as good as you thought. The Five of Cups shows...

Six of Cups – Pleasure

Six of Cups pleasure is the state of being pleased, satisfaction, enjoyment. Picatrix, however, gives a more sinister reason for the enjoyment at the expense of others. The Six of Cups suggests that trying to make someone happy is ultimately doomed to failure. Now is...

Seven of Cups – Debauch

Seven of Cups Debauch means to corrupt by sensuality, to seduce. Archaically to lead away from allegiance or duty. The Seven of Cups asks “How far can you take your own hedonistic pleasures?” You are about to find out where your limits are, and maybe you keep on...

Eight of Cups – Indolence

Eight of Cups Indolence is the quality or state of being indolent, or slothful. It indicates the outcome of excess is a hangover of some kind. It is the morning after the night before and you are emotionally drained, uncertain of exactly what you did. Did you...

Nine of Cups – Happiness

Nine of Cups - Happiness Nine of Cups happiness is the quality or state of being happy. Good fortune or pleasure. The antonym of pleasure is misery. The Nine of Cups shows that there is a perfect balance between fulfilling your own pleasures and the pleasures you...

Ten of Cups – Satiety

Ten of Cups Satiety is the state of being satiated, a surfeit. The Ten of Cups shows that trying to maintain the happiness you have experienced already takes a lot of work and effort, as you are now discovering. Eventually things can only go so far. How much extra...